top of page
  • Writer's pictureKing Jim

Morrisons: Sourdough BBQ Chicken



After the resounding success that was the £1.50 frozen pizza from Tesco last time around, I was quite keen to see what was in the other supermarket freezer sections. Off I went to Morrisons with a spring in my step and came across this Sourdough BBQ Chicken - excited!


I like specific cooking instructions but this one suggests a cooking time between 14 and 16 minutes at 200°C - I set the timer for 15 minutes and it came out looking ready to go.



Not a huge pizza but nearly 800 calories (790) which, for only £1.50, is pretty decent in my opinion. I did notice that it didn't smell of much when it came out of the oven but I was still keen to get cracking on it.


Spoiler alert - I was pretty disappointed.


Maybe I was expecting more after Tesco raised the bar so high for a budget pizza but this had some fundamental flaws. The base is described as thin and crispy - it's thin, I'll give it that. At first I thought the BBQ sauce was just a bit vinegary but as I went on i realised it was actually the taste of the peppers I was getting over and above any BBQ sauce flavour. The roast chicken (all the way from Thailand) had very little flavour either and despite claiming to be 15% cheese (9% Mozzarella, 6% Cheddar) I was at a loss to understand how.


Being based in Yorkshire I use Morrisons a lot and I'm usually very happy with the produce, this is just one of those unfortunate instances.



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page