top of page
  • Writer's pictureKing Jim

Sainsbury's: BBQ Chicken Pizza


I have no problem telling anyone that my favourite types of pizza have delicious, thin, and crispy bases but I thought "why the heck not?" and picked this baby up from the freezer aisle at Sainsbury's this week - once again for the bargain price of £1.50.


This pizza has the longest cooking instructions I've ever seen (maybe due to the base?) at 24 minutes in a 200°C and it didn't go perfectly well in my oven as you will see from the pictures below - not a good start.

No amount of filtering or editing is going to make the first picture look any better but it is a little bit misleading as there weren't any bits that simply crumbled into ash. I think just a couple of minutes less in my oven and it would have been fine.


What am I saying? It actually was fine, if not a bit better than that. The base had a lovely crispy bottom and the rest was very light. It wasn't a particularly flavourful base but, at the price, I'm not looking for gourmet results in that regard. The sauce was really tasty, sweet and smoky with a bit of acidity and the cheese seemed quite generous. The toppings got a little lost under the taste of the sauce and cheese but you get the odd hit of of roast chicken, corn or onion - fair play.


Overall I'm impressed. Even my usual partisan attitude to pizza bases has been halted in its tracks. Nice one Sainsbury's.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page